Interviews With Young Authors

It has been my pleasure to mentor some young authors this past year, honing their creative writing skills and bringing their work to publication.  Ivan Sun and Andrew Li are both in grade three and Aaron Lu is a grade six student.  Today, we launch their anthologies, chapter books and novels!

Ivan wrote, “Ivanworks:  An Anthology of Great Literature”, Andrew wrote, “The Great Space Race” and Aaron, “The Rookie”.

What better way to celebrate than with an interview.  Below, Andrew and Ivan interview one another on being young authors.

Interview With Andrew

Ivan:  Andrew, what inspired you to write, “The Great Space Race”?

Andrew:  Lori encouraged me to write my best and I chose space as my theme because space is very interesting and there are a lot of unknown things about it.  I could imagine my own planets and create them.

Ivan:  Why did you choose one obstacle to be a labyrinth?

Andrew:  A labyrinth is a very scary place.  You could be trapped in there forever.  It is a very dangerous setting and it keeps my readers interested because the characters are in danger.

Ivan:  Was it hard to write your book?

Andrew:  It was hard because I had to write thousands of words and edit it myself.  I had to write about a lot of characters.  I learned how to write longer stories and keep them interesting.

 

Interview with Ivan

Andrew:  Ivan, what was your favourite part of the book “Space Camp”?

Ivan:  My favourite part was when Adrian met Bloop De Blah Blah the president of all of the aliens.

Andrew:  Why did you write the book?

Ivan:  I wrote it to encourage readers to like adventures and to let their imaginations go loose.

Andrew:  Describe the main characters in the story “The Lost Necklace of Cleo Patra”.  Why did you choose them?

Ivan:  The two main characters are Grandpa and I.  We were royal mice.  Grandpa was the main character because he had magical hieroglyphic powers.  I was also a main character because I discovered the lost tomb of Cleo Patra in the story.

DSCN8979

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interviews With Young Authors

  1. Ivan says:

    Hi Lori!

    Ivan

  2. Ivan says:

    Hi Lori,
    You are amazing and you are my favorite author!
    I LOVE YOU!

    Your Young Author,
    Ivan

  3. Ivan says:

    You are AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Ivan says:

    I am your #1 Fan

Leave a Reply

