Poem by Alyssa, Grade 6, Star of the Sea, to Celebrate International Women’s Day

I am wrapping up a techno-poet-ology residency at Star of the Sea School in White Rock tomorrow  I have been immensely impressed with the quality and depth of the poems students have written in such a short time.  This one fits perfectly with the themes of International Day and needs to be shared.

Dear Poem 

Dear People of the World,

I would like to tell you something that has been on my mind for a long time,

Something I hear a lot .

You tell me women can’t build skyscrapers.

I would like to tell you women can do anything men can do; we are equal.

I hope that during our next encounter you will see a world filled with young women believing they can accomplish amazing things.

So then, the next time we meet face to face, maybe you will see the unknown, experience the true power of women, and understand how women are needed in the world .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

