Poem From Senior Kindergarten

Audiences often ask at when did I begin writing…the first poem I recall penning was at St Paschal Baylon Elementary School in Senior Kindergarten.  It was, perhaps, an indication of where I would make my home…by water.  It was perhaps, an indication of how a reflective child grew into a reflective adult.  It was conceived before I could even print.  The teacher wrote it out for me and posted it in the classroom.  Here’s what I remember of it.

The river is deep.

The river is wide.

Ships go sailing, I wonder why.

Big ships, little ships, sailing by.

Some on the ocean.

I wonder why….

This entry was posted in Ponderings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

